Vintage fashion

BBRBF Book Club: The Secret History of Wonder Woman 

Ok, so I’m only a month late on this post but I still really want to share it so here we go! Our book club book for the month of April was The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lapore. I must confess that I’m not much of a comic book fan, however, Wonder Woman is pretty awesome so I was excited to give this one a read. (Not to mention, come up with an outfit to go with the book!)

This book ended up to be not quite what I was expecting, but not necessarily in a bad way. This was an in-depth look at the creator William Molton Marston, his life, family and the influential women that inspired Wonder Woman. Marston himself was an advocate for women’s rights, and in fact believed that women would eventually lead the world as opposed to men. 

Author Jill Lapore was able to put together this never before heard history using Marston’s never-before-seen private papers. 

Beginning in his undergraduate years at Harvard, Marston was influenced by early suffragists and feminists, starting with Emmeline Pankhurst, who was banned from speaking on campus in 1911, when Marston was a freshman. In the 1920s, Marston and his wife, Sadie Elizabeth Holloway, brought into their home Olive Byrne, the niece of Margaret Sanger, one of the most influential feminists of the twentieth century. The Marston family story is a tale of drama, intrigue, and irony. In the 1930s, Marston and Byrne wrote a regular column for Family Circle celebrating conventional family life, even as they themselves pursued lives of extraordinary nonconformity. Marston, internationally known as an expert on truth—he invented the lie detector test—lived a life of secrets, only to spill them on the pages of Wonder Woman. (Courtesy of Amazon) 

The book was fascinating, however, I think it would’ve been a better choice to get the hard copy rather than listening to the book on Audible. I found myself getting a little confused because there are a lot of different people and the story skips around in time. Also, in the paper copy there are clips of Wonder Woman comics between chapters, that you don’t get to experience in the audio version. 

It was very interesting to hear the changes that Wonder Woman went through after Marston’s death and honestly, quite a shame. Wonder Women went from being a superhero fighting for women’s rights, to a babysitter and a secretary. 

Despite the changes after Marston’s death, Wonder Woman is still the greatest female superhero of all time. I am beyond excited to see the movie in a just a few short weeks. 

Ok, let’s talk clothes! I put together this pin-up Wonder Woman outfit using pieces I already had in my closet (minus the bracelets which I will tell you all about). The shirt is from H&M and the skirt is actually the Pinup Girl Clothing Havana dress converted to a skirt. If you would like to see a tutorial on how I did this please comment and let me know! 

The earrings and brooch are vintage and they were a gift from a stranger that came in to the theater while I was working. She was the sweetest lady! She saw how I was dressed and said she wanted to bring me some of her mother’s old jewelry. She wanted someone to have it that would love it and use it. I thought they were perfect for this look with the blue with gold moon and silver stars. The brooch is a heart with wings in a nod to Marston and his “free love” belief and lifestyle. 

The bangles are my very first purchase from Splendette ! As soon as I started this book and started brainstorming an outfit for my pinup Wonder Woman, I knew I needed some bracelets. I have been wanting some Splendette bangles for a while now, and this was the perfect reason to get some. One can’t dress inspired by wonder women without her indestructible bracelets! Incidentally I leaned in the book that the bracelets were inspired by Olive Byrne, Marston’s other “wife” who had special gold bracelets she wore constantly. I have to say that these bangles were everything I wanted them to be! They are gorgeous, sparkley, and the perfect size to not feel too bulky and not slip off my hand. 

I tied everything together with my favorite Bait Footwear shoes. 

Even though I’m late to the game make sure to go check out my fellow book club members reviews and inspired outfits: Sara (In a Nutshell ), Kat (The Miss Information Blog), Kristina (The Eyre Effect), Helene (Circle Skirts and Petticoats), Noelle (The Classy Junk), and Justyna (Hazel and Honey)!

All photo credit goes to my husband Dayne Fay! He actually came up with the idea for the locations for this shoot. I think it fit perfectly! 

Our May book club pick was actually mine! Stay tuned for my review of Caravel by Stephanie Garber. Thanks for reading! 


2 thoughts on “BBRBF Book Club: The Secret History of Wonder Woman 

  1. I am so glad you still shared this post – no matter how late, I don’t think we should feel as though we can’t share! I loved reading your review regardless! I also love that you wore the Havana as a skirt and oh my gosh the story behind the jewelry you received! I have heard of this happening to a couple other gals and just love it. A lady in my workout class brought me brooches she had gotten from estate sales and her relatives after she learned of my blog and it was just so sweet of her!!

    Lastly, welcome to the Splendette fan club. Now that you’ve started, you won’t be able to stop 😉

    http://www.inanutshellblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Sara! I worried about sharing it so late, so thank you for saying that. Yeah, I had to get creative with this one and I kept staring at my closet trying to think of what I could put together!
      That lady was the sweetest. She told me about how her mother passed away and she had all this jewelry that she didn’t really want but she didn’t want to take it to the thrift store. She wanted someone to have it that would love and appreciate it. I had tears when she brought it in!! That’s so neat you had that happen too! People are so thoughtful.
      You are right about Splendette! I need all the bangles!!! 😬

      Like

Leave a Reply

