Uncategorized

Using Vintage Accessories to Create a New Look


This week we traveled south, away from the snow and into the desert. I wanted to go thrifting and take some photos so we hopped in the car and went for a drive.

I have had the problem lately of gazing into my closet and feeling as if I have nothing to wear! Don’t get me wrong, I know I have many beautiful vintage style dresses and I am so blessed. It’s just that I feel like I wear the same four or five dresses every week. It was time to switch it up!


I had a brainstorm, and I remembered this lovely vintage fur collar that a good friend gave me a few years ago, and I decided to give it a try. The collar totally changed the look of the dress and it really pulled together a new look.


I added these vintage white leather gloves to complete the look. I found these at a local thrift store last summer and they were a steal at $2.00.

My vintage pink rhinestone brooch tied in the pink buttons and belt on my dress and I had a new outfit! I didn’t feel like I had just worn this anymore. Success!


This beautiful location was right off the freeway. We pulled off and had to do a little bit of hiking through the mud, before we got to these neat ruins. It was an adventure! When we returned to the parking area there were four very colorful chickens sitting on the fence. We were far away from any town or homes, and it was so strange to see them sitting there. I wish we would’ve snapped a picture of them!


I am excited to use some different vintage accessories to create some new looks with dresses I have had a long time. Sometimes when you don’t have the budget to go out and buy new clothes, you can still add some flair to the clothes you already own by accessorizing!

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Using Vintage Accessories to Create a New Look

  1. That first photo of you is STUNNING! I LOVE the location of these and I’m so eager to get out more for more photos outside my own little yard! And hooray for finding new ways to combine things! I have the same problem; I constantly want to get new things to mix in with the old, because I feel like I wear the same thing all the time. Fur collars are my favorite way to remix things! I love how all of this looks.
    Kristina
    eyreeffect.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! This location was just off the freeway and close to home so that was lucky! I have never worn a fur collar before this, and I’m so happy I tried it! Thanks again!

      Like

  2. Holy cow these photos are AMAZING! I love how it’s “NBD just headed to the desert” haha I AM GREEN WITH ENVY! I think it’s the perfect backdrop to juxtapose with this dress – you look phenomenal!! I am glad you connected with me via Insta – you’re a total babe and I am excited to get to know you here and on Instagram!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

